Beauty · How To · Make up · Skincare · Travel

How to Pack Your Beauty Products for Travelling

I’m going to Amsterdam and Birmingham in November for my birthday, mine and my boyfriends 2 year anniversary and his birthday! I’ve been thinking about how I’m going to choose which products I’m going to take with me so I thought I would share a guide on how to figure it out…

We’ll start with the makeup.

First of all we’ll start with basic products, we need a face primer, eyelid primer, one foundation, one or two concealers (they’re not that big so we can manage two if needed!) and one or two products for the brows. These should be easy to pick as we all have our favourites and the ones we use most days.

Secondly we need to decide on a couple of blushes, a contour and/or bronzer powder and a couple of highlighters. My current favourite blushes are my mini Benefit – Sugar Bomb (perfect travel size) for a more subtle cheek and my BareMinerals Ready Blush – The French Kiss for more of a pop of colour. My go-to contour powder is my Makeup Geek pan in Break Up and I’ll probably pass on taking a bronzer as well. My favourite highlighter for any makeup look is definitely my Makeup Revolution Baked Highligher in Golden Lights, it just goes with everything.

Next up we need to pick a good eyeshadow palette that is versatile so we can create a lot of different looks with it. A palette with a mixture of matte and shimmers and a range of colours will be perfect. For me I’m going for the Anastasia Beverly Hills – Modern Renaissance Palette. This is my favourite palette at the minute and it is so versatile for so many different looks with all the right shades. I have a full review & swatches here if you’re interested!

Next up we need a couple of good eyeliners and mascaras (and lashes if you like to wear falsies – I never have!). I currently only ever wear black eyeliner but I like to use a pencil liner for the waterline and a gel liner for a good wing.

Lipsticks and lip liners! Now this is hard if you’re like me and you’re a hoarder of lipsticks and want to take them all with you everywhere. Try sticking to five lippies max picking some day shades and some evening shades whether it be matte, liquid, liquid matte or satin- that bits up to you depending on your collection! Sticking to 5 will make getting ready quicker while you’re away which means more time sight seeing! I like to go for nudes and pinks in the day and deeper pink and berry shades for the evening. Luckily I have my trusty Mac lip liner in ‘Whirl’ which goes with all my nudes and pinks and ‘Nightingale’ which goes with my deeper shades.

Not forgetting the products we need for the finishing touches! One setting spray, one setting powder – pick your favourites. If you have a travel size version of your favourite setting spray you are good to go!

Next up we have skincare.

If you’re like me and when you’re away you can’t be bothered to take ages on skincare because you want to get back to the hotel late, take off your face and get straight in bed ready for the next day of sight seeing all you need is the basics.

All I’ll be taking with me is my Garnier – Micellar Cleansing Water (travel size of course!), a couple of cotton wool pads and maybe a toner. I’m only going away for 5 days so for me I think it’s perfectly acceptable to just take this amount. If you’re going away for longer you may want to throw in a face mask just for that extra bit of care your skin may crave while you’re away.

Last but not least we can’t go anywhere without some makeup tools!

This is the hardest part for me as I love all of my brushes so much. I’ll be taking with me a mixture of Spectrum and Real Techniques brushes along with my Beauty Blender and Miracle Complexion Sponge. All we need is a brush for foundation, highlight, blush, powder, contour and then some eyeshadow brushes – yeah not a lot right? Luckily brushes don’t take up that much room so we should be fine (we hope!). If you’d like to hear more about my collection of Spectrum brushes click here.


Do any of you have any favourites for travelling or any extra tips?

4 thoughts on “How to Pack Your Beauty Products for Travelling

Leave a Reply

