Beauty · Make up · Review · Thoughts

My First Nyx Cosmetics Treats


I think I’m pretty late to only just be trying out some products from the super affordable brand Nyx Cosmetics, but there’s a first time for everything and mine only arrived in September! 

I decided to give it a try as I needed a new eyebrow pencil and I’ve been wanting to try out some loose setting powder for awhile now as keeping my makeup from melting away is a battle I’m still fighting every day…

So let’s start with this Sculpt & Highlight Brow Contour. One end of this is a brow pencil and the other end is a highlight stick for under the arch of the brow, I love a double ended product!

I picked up the shade Brunette for £8 at Boots. My local store hasn’t got a full counter yet so the stock is quite limited still and they didn’t have all the shades, but I’m sure most others probably do as I only live in a small town! Anyway.. back to the point. I think the price is very reasonable considering before this pencil, I was using a No7 brow pencil for the exact same price.

When I first used this I thought the precision was brilliant on the brow end and it made it really easy to use and shape my brows the way I wanted them because the pencil was pretty sharp. Unfortunately over time I have to keep twisting the pencil round to get the best side the more blunt it gets.. Can you sharpen this? I haven’t tried as I thought it would just snap with it being a retractable crayon type pencil! But maybe I’m just being stupid.. nonetheless I still use it everyday and it still does the job, and stays in place!

I don’t use the highlight shade as much but that’s simply because I don’t highlight under my brow everyday like I shape my brows. But saying that the highlight shade is lovely and it’s so quick and easy having both ends on one pencil. Both sides are retractable too so they’re super sturdy and no product is wasted.

Next up is the Mineral “Set it & Don’t Fret it” Matte Finishing Powder. 

I’ve been wanting to try out a finishing powder for so long now and I just kept on lusting over the Laura Mercier Loose Setting Powder, but I thought, I’ve never tried one before so I can’t go straight in and spend £30 on my first one! So I was looking around and reading reviews for what seemed like forever.. until finally I just picked this one and the wait was over. This was also £8 at Boots and I got the shade Light – Medium. There’s only 2 shades so it’s not a difficult choice luckily. 

But as I’m writing this review now, I’m still not sure how I feel about it to tell you the truth! I’ve been using it for a good couple of weeks and I just cannot make up my mind as to whether it’s worth it or not. I like to use it to ‘bake’ my face so that my makeup is more likely to stay in place for longer, which I think to some extent it does. But I still find myself with a shiny forehead (maybe not as bad) and I’m not quite sure what happens along my jawline? Either it’s my foundation or the powder or both that causes the problem. But my foundation is going patchy? What I do love about the product though is after applying, leaving for 5 minutes and then brushing off the excess, is that my face feels so ridiculously soft it’s so nice. But is it really worth the hassle? I just can’t decide. Have any of you tried it?

After trying out my first products I think I definitely want to try some of the liquid lipsticks as I’ve seen and heard so many great things about them over Instagram and other blogs. Some of them look so pretty and they’re so affordable I just have to! I’m just stuck on which shades to go for.

Have any of you tried any Nyx products you highly recommend? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “My First Nyx Cosmetics Treats

Leave a Reply

